Hottest Online News Portal

Warisan Does Not Recognise New Sabah Government

in Top News

KOTA KINABALU — Parti Warisan Sabah (Warisan) does not recognise the Sabah government that was formed last night as a legitimate government, its president, Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal said.

This, he said, was because the formation of the new government, led by Barisan Nasional (BN) through its state BN chairman Tan Sri Musa Aman, was not with absolute mandate from the people.

“The government that was formed last night did not have the adequate number of seats. I know the United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (UPKO) has made known its stand (to be with Warisan).

“I have sent a letter to the Yang Dipertua Negeri of Sabah Tun Juhar Mahiruddin on the matter (UPKO’s support for Warisan) and we have sufficient number of seats to form the state government,” he told reporters here today.

Mohd Shafie said UPKO acting president Datuk Seri Wilfred Madius Tangau and several other members of the party had stated that they were no longer with BN.

Yesterday, Madius had met with Mohd Shafie at his residence here before calling for a media conference to announce UPKO’s decision to leave BN and form a coalition government with Warisan.

UPKO won five state seats and one parliamentary seat in the just-concluded general election.

However, five UPKO’s assemblymen – Ewon Benedict (Kadamaian), Datuk Abidin Madingkir (Paginatan), Datuk Bobbey Ah Fan Bin Suan (Nabawan), Datuk Masiung Banah (Kuamut) and Datuk Limus Juri (Kuala Penyu) — denied joining Warisan.

Yesterday, Parti Solidariti Tanah Airku (Star) made known its stand to align with BN and the move brought to 31 the number of BN’s seats, giving the coalition a simple majority to form the state government.

Musa was sworn in as Chief Minister of Sabah for the fourth term last night.

The GE14 results in Sabah saw BN with 29 state seats, Parti Warisan (21), DAP (six) and PKR (two) and STAR (two). – BERNAMA


Latest from Top News

Go to Top