Hottest Online News Portal

Wan Azizah, Datuk Hasan Sworn In At Parliament

in Latest

KUALA LUMPUR – Datuk Seri Wan Azizah Wan Ismail and Datuk Hasan Arifin took their oath of office as the new parliamentary members for Permatang Pauh and Rompin, respectively, at the Second Meeting of the Third Term of the 13th Parliament which began today.

The swearing in ceremony was held before Dewan Rakyat Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia and other parliamentarians soon after the start of the parliamentary session today.

Dr Wan Azizah, who is Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) president, is back as a member of the august house after winning in the Permatang Pauh by-election with a majority of 8,841 votes, defeating Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate, Suhaimi Sabudin, who obtained 21,475 votes.

The by-election was necessitated after its incumbent, PKR adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, was disqualified to hold the post due to his sodomy conviction and failure to obtain a royal pardon.

As for Hasan, he helped to retain the Barisan Nasional seat in Rompin in a straight fight against PAS’ Nazri Ahmad,, who obtained 14,901 votes.

Hasan won the seat with a 8,895 vote-majority. – BERNAMA


Latest from Latest

Go to Top