Hottest Online News Portal

UMNO Wings’ Delegate Meeting Starts Today

in Top News

KUALA LUMPUR – The UMNO Wanita, Pemuda and Puteri movements began their respective delegates meeting and election simultaneously in 191 divisions at 9 am today.

Delegates of UMNO Wanita, Pemuda and Puteri will elect their leaders at the divisional and central levels through two different ballot papers in separate meetings to be held in the morning.

The first ballot paper is for the election of the chief, vice chief and 15 executive committee members of the wings at the divisional level while another ballot paper is to elect the respective wings’ leadership at the central level for the posts of permanent chairman, deputy permanent chairman, chief, vice chief and 25 executive committee members.

For the UMNO Wanita movement, three candidates are eligible to contest as Wanita chief, namely Tan Sri Dr Siti Zaharah Sulaiman, Datuk Noraini Ahmad and Datuk Azizah Mohd Dun while four others will vie for the post of Wanita vice chief.

A total of 81 candidates are vying for posts in the executive committee, two candidates for the post of Wanita permanent chairman and four candidates for the deputy permanent chairman’s post.

In the UMNO Pemuda movement, 207 candidates are contesting with two vying for the post of the permanent chairman. three for the deputy permanent chairman’s post, nine for the Pemuda chief’s post and nine for the Pemuda vice chief’s post and the rest for posts in the executive committee.

Nine individuals are contesting for the post of Pemuda chief, including Pemuda vice chief Khairul Azwan Harun, supreme council member Datuk Dr Asyraf Wadji Dusuki, Pahang Pemuda chief Mohd Shahar Abdullah and the controversial Sungai Besar Division chief Datuk Seri Jamal Md Yunos.

The post of Puteri chief will see a contest between Puteri vice chief Datuk Zahida Zarik Khan and Puteri exco member Nor Hazreena Mohamad Hashim.

Five other candidates will vie for the post of vice chief, 71 candidates for posts in the executive committee and two for the permanent chairman’s post.

The post of deputy permanent chairman was won unopposed by Salbiah Saari. – BERNAMA


Latest from Top News

Go to Top