Hottest Online News Portal

Tengku Abdullah Elected As Asian Representative For FIFA Exco

in Latest/Slider/Sports

KUALA LUMPUR: The Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) president Tengku Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah has created a new milestone in the local football scene after being elected as among three Asian representatives for the FIFA executive committee for 2015-2019.

He and vice president and executive general secretary of Japan Football Association (JFA) Kohzo Tashima was elected for the seat during the 26th Asian Football Confederation (AFC) ordinary congress, held in Manama, Bahrain on Thursday.

Sheikh Ahmad Fahad Al Ahmad Al Sabah of Kuwait who was previously elected for the same seat back in 2013, was re-elected until 2017 after winning unopposed.

Tashima received the highest votes of 36 polls followed by Tengku Abdullah with 25 polls out of 46 AFC members who cast their votes.

For the record, Tengku Abdullah is the second Malaysian to be appointed as member of the world’s football governing body after the late Tan Sri Hamzah Abu Samah who was a former FIFA vice-president for eight years from 1982 until 1990.

During the congress, incumbent AFC president, Shaikh Salman Ebrahim Al Khalifa of Bahrain retains the post for another four years until 2019 after re-elected unopposed.

Shaikh Salman who is also a member of the Bahrain’s royal family, has held the post since May 2013.

On his reappointment, he said he was humbled and honoured to stand unopposed for the position of AFC president and FIFA vice-president.

“I take this as a sign of your satisfaction with the work that I have done so far and your trust in me to lead this unique confederation,” he said as quoted in the AFC website :

Twenty one individuals from various Asian countries were also elected for the AFC executive committee during the congress.

AFC Executive Committee for 2015-2019:

FIFA Executive Committee member (2013-2017):
Sheikh Ahmad Fahad Al Ahmad Al Sabah (Kuwait)

FIFA Executive Committee members (2015-2019):
Kohzo Tashima (Japan)
Tengku Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah (MALAYSIA)

Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa (Bahrain)

AFC Vice Presidents:
Winston Lee Boon Aun (Singapore)
Zhang Jilong (China)
Ali Kafashian Naeini (Iran)
Saoud A. Aziz M A Al Mohannadi (Qatar)
Praful Manoharbhai Patel (India)

AFC Female Executive Committee Members:
Moya Dodd (Australia)
Han Un Gyong (North Korea)
Zohra Mehri (Afghanistan)
Susan R. A. Shalabi (Palestine)
Mahfuza Akhter (Bangladesh)

AFC Executive Committee Members:
Mariano V. Araneta Jr. (Philippines)
Viphet Sihachakr (Laos)
Francisco Kalbuadi Lay (Timor Leste)
Richard King Lai (Guam)
Mong Gyu Chung (South Korea)
Sardor Rakhmatullaev (Uzbekistan)
Mohamed Khalfan Matar Saeed Al Romaithi (UAE)
Ahmed Eid S. Al Harbi (Saudi Arabia)
Hachem Sayed Ali Haidar (Lebanon)
Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat (Pakistan)
Mohamed Shaweed (Maldives)


Latest from Latest

Go to Top