Hottest Online News Portal

Selangor To Scout For Talent In Selangor Raja Muda Cup

in Latest/Sports

SHAH ALAM – The 29th Selangor Raja Muda Cup which started today would be an effective platform to unearth young football talents in the state.

Tournament chairman Datuk Emran Kadir said the main objective of the championship was to identify and groom young players from the grassroots so that they can go on to represent the state in higher level competitions.

“Players identified to have potential will be absorbed into sports school to undergo proper training and guidance. Only Selangor is organising such a championship to find the best players to represent the state in future,” he said in a statement today.

The tournament will see 576 players from 32 teams representing 20 primary schools under the Petaling Perdana education office district (PPD) and 12 schools from Petaling Utama (PPD) with the teams divided into eight groups.

The matches will be played in groups of four teams with the top two teams qualifying for the last 16 before the quarter-finals, semi-finals and the final on Oct 22.

Kumpulan Perangsang Selangor Berhad (Perangsang Selangor) has been the main sponsor of the championship for four consecutive times and a sponsorship cheque for RM100,000 was presented by Perangsang Selangor board member Mustaffa Kamil Ayub today.

The champion of the Selangor Raja Muda Cup will receive a cash prize of RM4,000 with a trophy and certificates while the runners-up will get RM3,000, third place winner will get RM2,000 and the fourth placed team receives RM1,000 together with trophies and certificates.

Apart from that, the eight teams in the quarter-finals will receive jerseys sponsored by Perangsang Selangor.

In a charity shield match last night, defending champions Sekolah Kebangsaan (SK) Seksyen 20, Shah Alam crushed host SK Seksyen 18, Shah Alam, 5-0.

Team captain, Muhammad Fareez Iqhmal Nazarudin scored two goals in the 15th and 49th minute while the other scorers were Mizan Irfan Mohd Faizal (14th minute), Mohamad Alif Hakimi Mohd Shabuddin (39th minute) and Muhammad Adib Mohamad Fairuz (46th minute). – BERNAMA

Latest from Latest

Go to Top