Hottest Online News Portal

Sarawak Polls: Adenan Announces Four More Direct Candidates

in Latest/Slider

KUCHING: Chief Minister Tan Sri Adenan Satem (pic) has announced four more Barisan Nasional direct candidates.

The announcement this time benefited incumbents who had broken off from SUPP, one of the four state component parties.

All the incumbents have also resigned from UPP, the party they formed after leaving SUPP.

The direct candidates named are Datuk Seri Wong Soon Koh for Bawang Assan, Ranum Mina (Opar), plus the previously announced Datuk Dr Jerip Susil (Mambong) and Dr Johnical Rayong (Engkilili).

Adenan said the four had resigned from UPP as part of “Barisan constitution requirements”.

The other direct candidates are Datuk Tiong Thai King (Lanang) and Datuk Hii King Chiong (Pujut).

Tiong is chairman of the Sibu Municipal Council and was Lanang MP between 1995 and 2013; Hii is head of a timber firm and hotel chain called Kingwood.

Adenan also announced that Datuk Pau Chiong Ung, an SPDP member would resign from the party to join SUPP, to contest in Tanjung Batu (formerly Kidurong, which was won by DAP’s Chiew Chiu Sing in 2011).

Latest from Latest

Go to Top