Hottest Online News Portal

S. Thangasvari Appointed Perak State Speaker

in Latest

IPOH: S. Thangasvari has been sworn in as the new Perak state speaker, replacing Datuk Seri S. K. Devamany in the state legislative assembly.

The appointment makes her the state’s first woman speaker.

The former national MIC Wanita vice-chairman and former state MIC Wanita chief was elected following a voting process which saw her garner 30 votes to Pakatan Harapan candidate Batu Gajah MP V. Sivakumar’s 24. Four people abstained from voting.

Thangasvari’s name was proposed by Datuk Saarani Mohamad (BN-Kota Tampan) and seconded by Datuk Dr Mah Hang Soon (BN-Chenderiang).

Perak Pakatan Harapan whip Datuk Mohamad Nizar Jamaluddin (Amanah-Changkat Jering) proposed Sivakumar for the post. He was supported by Chang Lih Kang (PKR-Teja).

The Opposition had claimed that the candidate from Barisan was only submitted to the State Secretariat after the Aug 1 deadline.

State assembly secretary Shahrul Azam Shaari, however, explained that Thangasvari’s name was submitted on Aug 1 at 3pm, while Sivakumar’s name was submitted on July 26 at 2.30pm.

Thangasvari is a lawyer by profession. She contested in the 2008 general election where she lost to PKR’s S. Kesavan for the Hutan Melintang state seat.

The state speaker post was left vacant following Devamany’s appointment as Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department.


Latest from Latest

Go to Top