Hottest Online News Portal

Rompin By-Election: Nomination Proses Closed At 10 Am

in Latest/Politics

ROMPIN: The nomination process for the Rompin Parliamentary by-election at the Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah Silver Jubilee Hall, here began at 9am this morning and closed at 10am.

BN’s candidate Datuk Hasan Arifin submits nomination form at 9.07am. PAS’s candidate Nazri Ahmad submits nomination form at 9.04am.

The nomination process lasted for one hour before the Returning Officer, Datuk Fadzilla Salleh, announced the name of the candidates contesting in the by-election.

Earlier, Barisan Nasional had announced that Rompin acting Umno division head Datuk Hasan Arifin would be the party’s candidate for the by-election while Pahang PAS Youth chief Nazri Ahmad was expected to be fielded by PAS.

The Rompin by-election was being held following the death of the incumbent Member of Parliament, Tan Sri Dr Jamaluddin Jarjis, in a helicopter crash in Semenyih, Selangor on April 4.

In the 13th general election, Jamaluddin retained the seat that he held for almost six terms after defeating former PAS Wanita head, Nuridah Mohd Salleh, with a majority of 15,114 votes.

The Rompin Parliamentary by-election is the 19th by-election held after the 13th general election on May 5, 2013.

The Rompin Parliamentary constituency has 53,294 registered voters comprising 52,744 ordinary voters, 545 early voters and five absentee voters who are abroad.

The early voting would be held on April 30 while full voting is set for May 5. – Bernama

Latest from Latest

Go to Top