Hottest Online News Portal

Rompin By-Election: 4 Polling Centres Close At 2pm

in Latest/Politics

ROMPIN – Four out of the 38 polling centres in the Rompin by-election were closed at 2 pm today due to the small number of voters.

According to the Election Commission (EC) spokesman, three of the polling centres were Sekolah Kebangsaan Juara which had 171 registered voters, Balai Raya Kampung Genting (142 voters) and Sekolah Kebangsaan Mukut (136 voters) in Pulau Tioman.

Another one, namely Sekolah Kebangsaan Denai in Kuala Rompin has 170registered voters.

All the four areas are in the Tioman state seat and were opened since 8 am.

Meanwhile the polling centre in Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Tekek, Pulau Tioman, which has 651 voters, would be closed at 3 pm and while the polling centre in Dewan Stesen Mardi, Muadzam Shah for the Bukit Ridan polling district which has 312 voters at 4 pm.

According to the EC spokesman, the ballot boxes from Pulau Tioman would be brought by the Malaysian Maritime Enforcement Agency (MMEA) boat and helicopter which would be closely guarded by the police to prevent any sabotage or untoward incident to the vote tallying centre in Dewan Jubli Perak Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah here.

The Rompin by-election witnesses a straight fight between Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate Datuk Hasan Arifin and PAS candidate Nazri Ahmad to fill the vacancy following the death of incumbent Tan Sri Dr Jamaluddin Jarjis.

Jamaluddin, who is also Perumahan Rakyat 1Malaysia (PR1MA) chairman was killed in a helicopter crash in Semenyih, Selangor last April 4. – BERNAMA

Latest from Latest

Go to Top