Hottest Online News Portal

Rompin By-Electiom: BN Retains Seat

in Latest/Politics

ROMPIN - Barisan Nasional (BN) has retained the Rompin parliamentary seat after its candidate Datuk Hasan Arifin won in the by-election here today with a majority of 8,895 votes.

Hasan, 62, obtained 23,796 votes or 61 per cent of the votes cast while his challenger, PAS’s Nazri Ahmad, 40, secured 14,901 votes or 39 per cent.

In the 13th General Election held in May 2013, Tan Sri Dr Jamaluddin Jarjishad retained the seat for the BN after defeating Dewan Muslimat

PAS chiefNuridah Mohd Salleh with a majority of 15,114 votes.

Jamaluddin obtained 30,040 votes or 66.53 per cent whereas Nuridah polled14,926 votes or 33.06 per cent.

The results were announced by the Returning Officer Datuk Fadzilla Salleh at the vote tallying centre at Dewan Jubli Perak Sultan Ahmad Shah here tonight. –

Latest from Latest

Go to Top