Hottest Online News Portal

Permatang Pauh By-Election: 24 Polling Centres Open At 8 AM

in Latest/Politics

PERMATANG PAUH: A total of 24 polling centres with 130 channels for the Permatang Pauh by-election were opened at 8 am today to enable 71,252 voters to cast their ballot.

The polling centres will be closed at 5 pm.

The early voting process involving 627 early voters was held last Sunday at two channels, namely Dewan Gemilang in Seberang Perai Tengah (SPT) district police headquarters and Kubang Semang police station quarters here.

EC deputy chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Hashim Abdullah said EC expected the voter turnout percentage to reach 80 per cent out of the 71,890 eligible voters in the constituency.

“EC expects the voter turnout percentage this time to decrease to 80 per cent from 88.50 per cent during the 13th general election in May, 2013,” he said.

BN candidate Suhaimi Sabudin voted at SMK Guar Perahu at 8.10am.

PKR candidate Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail voted at SK Seri Penanti at 8.40am. – BERNAMA

Latest from Latest

Go to Top