Hottest Online News Portal

PAS To Contest 42 Seats In Selangor In GE14

in Latest/Politics


SHAH ALAM – Selangor PAS today announced it will contest in at least 42 of the 56 state constituencies in the state in the next general election.

Its commissioner, Sallehen Mukhyi, said the decision was made following a statement by DAP and Parti Amanah Negara to field candidates in all seats contested by PAS.

The move by the Pakatan Harapan component parties might see three-cornered contests for the state seats, he said, but added that PAS was prepared to face that possibility.

“PAS is not the cause of the contests involving three or more candidates. It is DAP and Amanah which want to interfere and contest in all seats where PAS is to field candidates. So, it is only proper that we accept the challenge.

“Selangor PAS is also prepared to contest against PKR president Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail (in Kajang) and PKR deputy president Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali (in Bukit Antarabangsa),” he said at a press conference here.

Sallehen said the Selangor PAS decision on the state seats was accepted by the PAS headquarters but the decision on the parliamentary seats in the state would be made by the party top leadership.

He also said that there had been no discussions with PKR on the political situation in Selangor after PAS decided to have nothing to do with Pakatan Harapan in May.

When questioned about the Gombak parliamentary seat, now held by Mohamed Azmin, he said PAS would want to take back the seat from PKR as it was its traditional seat.

“We had allowed PKR to contest that seat. We had also proposed Mohamed Azmin to be the menteri besar despite winning 15 seats in the last general election. By right, the Gombak parliamentary seat should be returned to us,” he said.

Sallehen said Selangor PAS would field new and young candidates in seats likely to see three-cornered contests.

In the last general election, in 2013, Selangor PAS won 15 of the 21 seats it contested while DAP won 15 and PKR, 14.

However, two PAS assemblymen, namely Hasnul Baharuddin (Morib) and Saari Sungib (Hulu Kelang), quit the party and joined Amanah two years ago.




Latest from Latest

Go to Top