Hottest Online News Portal

Norza Wins OCM Presidency Unopposed

in Sports/Top News

KUALA LUMPUR – As was expected, Badminton Association of Malaysia (BAM) president Datuk Seri Mohamad Norza Zakaria officially replaced Tunku Imran Tuanku Jaafar as Olympic Council of Malaysia (MOM) president when he won the post unopposed for the 2018-2021 term.

OCM Election Panel chairman Datuk Seri Jahaberdeen Mohamed Yunoos said no other nomination was received until the close of the nomination period at 5pm today to challenge Mohamad Norza who received Tunku Imran’s blessings to lead the body.

Mohamad Norza, who was nominated by four affiliates, is expected to officially begin his duties as OCM president during the organisation’s AGM on May 5.

Tunku Imran, who had held the post for 20 years, decided to step down, and had signalled that Mohamad Norza was his most suitable replacement

Meanwhile, the post of deputy president will witness a straight fight between National Science Institute (NSI) chairman Datuk Seri Azim Mohd Zabidi and Malaysian National Silat Federation (PESAKA), secretary-general Datuk Megat Zulkarnain Omardin, who each received three nominations.

“OCM has 35 honorary members and 21 associate members … Only the honorary members are qualified to nominate, but each association can send only one nomination. Out of 35, four did not nominate anyone, while one nomination is incomplete, so it was disqualified. All the nominations will be verified and confirmed in two days,” said Jahaberdeen during a press conference at the Wisma OCM here today.

Meanwhile, the secretary-general’s post will also see fierce competition, as its incumbent Datuk Low Beng Choo will be challenged by Taekwondo Malaysia deputy president Datuk Mohd Nazifuddin Mohd Najib.

Beng Choo received four nominations, while Mohd Nazifuddin, who is also vice president of OCM, received two.

The five vice-presidential posts will see contest among nine candidates, including three incumbents, namely Prof Datuk Dr Zakaria Ahmad, Datuk Paduka Mumtaz Jaffar and Datuk Ong Poh Eng.

“For the post of Assistant Secretary, Datuk Chan Foong Keong and incumbent Moira Tan Siew See, have each won for the male and female positions respectively, unopposed. The same goes for the Treasurer’s post, as Ahmad Feisal Ahmad Tajuddin has won without contest,” he said.



Datuk Seri Mohamad Norza Zakaria (won unopposed)

Deputy President:

1. Datuk Seri Abdul Azim Mohd Zabidi

2. Datuk Megat Zulkarnain Omardin

Vice President (five posts, at least one from each sex): 1. Prof Datuk Dr Zakaria Ahmad 2. Datuk Paduka Mumtaz Jaafar 3. Datuk Ong Poh Eng 4. Datuk Nur Azmi Ahmad 5. Mahinda Vallipuram 6. Tan Sri Mohamad Noor Abdul Rahim 7. Prof Datuk Dr S. Shamala 8. Datuk Mohamad Taufik Omar 9. Nik Razeen Adam Daud

Secretary-General: 1. Datuk Low Beng Choo 2. Datuk Mohd Nazifuddin Mohd Najib

Assistant Secretary: 1. Chan Foong Keong – male (won without contest) 2. Moira Tan Siew See – female (won without contest)

Treasurer: Ahmad Feisal Ahmad Tajuddin (won without contest)

Assistant Treasurer: 1. Datuk Amarjit Singh Gill 2. Datuk Chong Kim Fatt- BERNAMA

Latest from Sports

Go to Top