Hottest Online News Portal

New Selangor Exco Line-up: Pkr Gets One Post More, Pas One Less

in Politics/Top News

SHAH ALAM – New Selangor Menteri Besar Mohamed Azmin Ali on Friday announced his 10 state executive councillors, adding one to give PKR four posts, dropping one to give PAS three posts and retaining the three posts for the DAP.

He named three new faces – Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad (Seri Setia assemblyman) and Amirudin Shari (Batu Caves) of the PKR and Zaidy Abdul Talib (Taman Templer) of PAS – and retained seven councillors from the administration of former menteri besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim.

The new faces replace Sallehan Mukhyi (Sabak) and Dr Halimah Ali (Selat Klang) of PAS and Rodziah Ismail (Batu Tiga) of PKR.

The seven councillors retained are Elizabeth Wong Keat Ping (Bukit Lanjan)and Dr Daroyah Alwi (Sementa) of PKR; Iskandar Abdul Samad (Chempaka) and Dr Ahmad Yunus Hairi (Sijangkang) of PAS and Datuk Teng Chang Khim (Sungai Pinang), V. Ganabatirau (Kota Alam Shah) and Ean Yong Hian Wah (Seri Kembangan) of DAP.

Mohamed Azmin announced the new line-up of councillors at a press conference at the State Secretariat building here.

He said he had an audience with the Sultan of Selangor, Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah, yesterday to obtain the ruler’s consent over the new line-up of state executive councillors.

The appointment of the councillors took effect Friday, he said, adding that their selection was based on their ability to take on the trust and responsibility in the spirit and principles of the Pakatan Rakyat pact made up of the three parties, he said.

“The portfolios to be assigned to the councillors will be discussed at the weekend with the leaders of all the parties in the Pakatan Rakyat,” he said.

He also said that all the councillors would take their oath of office at the Istana Alam Shah in Klang at 3 pm today. – Bernama


Latest from Politics

Go to Top