Hottest Online News Portal

Highlights Of The New Cabinet Line-Up

in Latest

KUALA LUMPUR: Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak has announced a Cabinet reshuffle that sees Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi appointed Deputy Prime Minister, as well as nine new ministers and deputy ministers.

Speaking at a press conference in Putrajaya, which was telecast live on TV, Najib said the new line-up will strengthen the Cabinet to face challenges in managing the country before the 14th general election.

He said the decision to replace Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin with Zahid, as well as appointment of new ministers and changes in portfolio were taken after taking into account political considerations and administrative needs.

Najib said the Cabinet must act as a united team in whatever situation, and stay focused on the national agenda in the face of various issues that arise.

“I can accept differences in opinion and criticisms as part of the decision-making process, but these differences in opinion should not be in an open forum that can affect the government negatively,” he said.

Najib said the decision to replace Muhyiddin is very difficult but necessary for the Cabinet to move as a united team. He also expressed gratitude to Muhyiddin and the ministers and deputy ministers who are no longer in the Cabinet, for their contribution to the country.

Highlights of the new Cabinet line-up, which takes effect July 29 2015, include:

Prime Minister and Finance Minister – Datuk Seri Najib Razak

Deputy Prime Minister and Home Minister – Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi

Communications and Multimedia Minister – Datuk Seri Salleh Said Keruak

Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism Minister – Datuk Hamzah Zainuddin

Transport Minister – Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai Health Minister – Datuk Seri Dr S. Subramaniam

Foreign Affairs Minister – Datuk Seri Anifah Aman

Agriculture and Agro-base Industry Minister – Datuk Seri Ahmad Shabery Cheek



Latest from Latest

Go to Top