Motion On No Contest For Top Two UMNO Leadership Posts Passed

in Politics/Top News


KUALA LUMPUR – The 2017 UMNO General Assembly today unanimously passed the motion for the posts of party president and deputy president to be uncontested at the coming party elections.

UMNO permanent chairman Tan Sri Badruddin Amiruldin announced the decision after delegates voted in favour of the motion which was proposed by UMNO Youth representative Datuk Mohamad Sahfri Ab Aziz and seconded by a representative from Perak, Datuk Mohd Azhar Jamaluddin.

“Therefore, in the spirit of togetherness and mutuality and to ensure this concept can be realised, it is decided at this assembly that the post of president held by Datuk Seri Najib Razak and the post of deputy president (the vice president assuming the post of deputy president) Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, will not be contested in the coming elections,” he said.

Earlier, Badruddin asked delegates who were in favour of the motion to raise their hands.

Najib also raised his hand and was poked slightly by Ahmad Zahid, before both broke out in laughter.

Referring to Najib, Ahmad Zahid and vice-president Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein as ‘tiga beradik’ (three brothers), Badruddin then asked the delegates to give their leaders a loud applause.