Hottest Online News Portal

MIC Does Poorly In GE14

in Latest

KUALA LUMPUR- The Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC) had one of its poorest outing in a general election; winning only two Parliament and three state seats.

Yesterday dismal showing matches its worst ever, which was in 1969 general election, when it won the same number of Parliamentary and state seats.

The party, one of the oldest in the country did not better its tally in the last two elections.

In the 14th General Election yesterday, it retained the Tapah parliamentary seat through Datuk V.Saravanan and the Cameron Highlands Parliament seat through and Datuk C.Sivaraajh.

MIC failed to retain the Segamat Parliament seat when PKR’s Datuk Santhara Kumar Ramanaidu beat party president Datuk Seri Dr S. Subramaniam by a 5,476 vote majority.

In Hulu Selangor, Datuk P.Kamalanathan also failed to retain his seat when he was defeated by PKR’s Leow Hsiad Hui by a whopping 13,391 vote majority.

The party also failed to wrest back certain seats that was lost in previous elections; Port Dickson which was formerly known as Teluk Kemang, Sg Siput, Kapar, Kota Raja and Sungai Buloh, formerly known as Subang.

At the state level, the MIC which contested 13 seats, only retained the Jeram Padang seat in Negri Sembilan via Datuk L.Manickam, as well as Tenggaroh state seat through K.Ravenkumar and the Kahang state seat which was won by Datuk R.Vidyanathan, in Johor.

It lost all the state seats contested in Penang, Kedah, Perak, Melaka and Pahang.- New Straits Times


Latest from Latest

Go to Top