Hottest Online News Portal

Messi, Ronaldo, Neymar Shortlisted For 2015 Ballon d’Or

in Latest/Sports

MADRID – FIFA announced on Monday the shortlist for the FIFA Ballon d’Or award for the world’s best player in 2015, including Barcelona’s Argentine forward Lionel Messi, Brazilian teammate Neymar and Real Madrid Portuguese star Cristiano Ronaldo.

Neymar da Silva Santos Junior is the only player in the shortlist who has not won this prestigious award before, while Messi has won it four times in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and Ronaldo in 2008, 2013 and 2014.

Winner of the best player award and winners in other categories will be announced during the FIFA Ballon d’Or award ceremony in Zurich on Jan. 11, 2016.

The winner of the best player award in this year’s ceremony will certainly be a player in a La Liga side, which has happened on four occasions in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012.

This is the ninth time for Lionel Messi to end up on the shortlist for the Ballon d’Or, and the seventh for Cristiano Ronaldo. – BERNAMA


Latest from Latest

Go to Top