Hottest Online News Portal

Melaka United Is 2016 Premier League Champion

in Latest/Sports


KUALA LUMPUR – Melaka United confirmed their Premier League champion title this
season despite a 1-1 draw with third-placed team, Johor Darul Ta’zim (JDT II)
in the match at Stadium Hang Jebat Melaka, last night.

The draw enabled Melaka United to have a total of 49 points, seven points
more than their nearest rival, PKNS FC with two more matches remaining.

The success enabled Melaka United managed by Mat Zan Mat Aris to qualify for
the Super League next season.

In the encounter last night, the homesters had to wait until the 75th minute
before breaking the deadlock through striker, Yashir Pinto Islame before JDT II
equalised through defender, Rafael De Jesus Bonfim in the 90th minute.

Melaka United team manager Datuk Mohd Yusoff Mahadi, when approached after
the match, expressed his happiness with the result which enabled the team to be
promoted to the Super League, next season.

“Supporters of Melaka United have waited for this moment when the team
succeeded to lift the Premier League trophy,” said Mohd Yusoff.

Meanwhile, PKNS FC also collected three full points after a narrow 1-0 win
against bottom team, Malaysian Armed Forces (ATM) at the Temerloh Municipal
Council Stadium thanks to the goal from Matias Hadwa in the 33rd minute.

Negeri Sembilan meanwhile defeated Kuala Lumpur 2-1 at the Selayang
Municipal Council Stadium.

Also collecting three full points was Perlis who deat bottom-placed team ,
Sime Darby FC at Stadium Tuanku Syed Putra, Kangar.

Two goals for the Northern Lion were scored by Mohd Afif Amiruddin in the
ninth minute and Charles Chad Souza in the 81st while the solitary goal for the
visitors came from Obiikechukwu Charles in the 70th.

Meanwhile, two more matches involved DRB-Hicom FC and Sabah at Stadium
Proton, Tanjung Malim while Kuantan FA faced UiTM FC at the Stadium Darul
Makmur, with both matches ending in 2-2 and 1-1 respectively.

Latest from Latest

Go to Top