Hottest Online News Portal

Kedah Clinch 2015 Premier League, Return To Super League In 2016

in Latest/Sports

KUALA LUMPUR – Kedah have lifted the 2015 Premier League title after thrashing
DRB Hicom FC 5-1 in the last league match at the National Stadium in Bukit Jalil,
lastr night.

The victory also saw Kedah gaining automatic promotion to the 2016 Super
League with Penang which beat UiTM FC on an away game to emerge runners-up.

As champions, Kedah took home the Premier League Cup and the cash prize of
RM300,000 presented by Kedah Regency Council member, Tan Sri Tunku Abdul Hamid
Thani Almarhum Sultan Badlishah.

Also present at the ceremony were Tunku Abdul Hamid’s wife, Toh Puan Sri
Datuk Nora Abdullah and Kedah Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mukhriz Tun Mahathir and
his wife, Datin Seri Norzieta Zakaria.

In the match, Brazilian import, Sandro Da Silva scored a hattrick in the
third minute, 31st minute and 78th minute while Chidi Edeh netted two goals in
the ninth minute and 49th minute.

DRB Hicom FC’s solitary goal was scored by Ivan Babic from a penalty in the
seventh minute.

At Hang Jebat Stadium, Melaka, Penang defeated UiTM FC 2-0 to overtake
T-Team for the second spot in the league and the runners-up title behind Kedah.

Penang’s two goals were netted by Mohd Azinee Taib in the eighth minute and
Hilton Mauro Moireira in the 80th minute.

Meanwhile T-Team had to be contented with the third place after a shock 1-2
defeat to league laggard, Kuantan FA at Darul Makmur Stadium.

The goals for the Pahang side were contributed by Abdul Malik Mat Ariff in
the 17th minute and Milan Purovic, five minutes later before T-Team closed the
gap with a goal by Mohd Mazuki Yusof in the 54th minute.

Also collecting three points were PKNS FC, which beat SPA Putrajaya FC 3-0
at Hang Tuah Stadium, Melaka with goals from Nazrin Syamsul Baharin in the 11th
minute and Gabriel Miguel Guerra in the 26th and 75th minute.

Negeri Sembilan’s NS Matrix and Johor Darul Ta’zim II (JDT II) confirmed
their places for a play-off to win a Malaysia Cup slot after securing victories.

NS Matrix edged Kuala Lumpur 2-1 at Tuanku Abdul Rahman Stadium in Paroi
while JDT II beat Sabah 2-1 at Likas Stadium in Kota Kinabalu.

With their loss in Paroi tonight, Kuala Lumpur will accompany SPA Putrajaya
FC to join the Football Association of Malaysia League (FAM) in 2016.


Latest from Latest

Go to Top