Hottest Online News Portal

JDT Edge Closer Towards Third Consecutive Super League Title

in Latest/Sports


KUALA LUMPUR – Defending Super League champion Johor Darul Ta’zim (JDT) edged closer towards retaining the 2016/2017 Super League title after edging Perak 2-1 at the Larkin Stadium, last night and opening up a 11-point gap over second placed Kedah.

With only four more matches remaining, JDT now has 45 points compared with Kedah with 35 points.

In the match, Perak drew first blood through Mohd Hafiz Kamal’s freekick on the stroke of half time but JDT came back from the break to first score the equaliser through Mohd Fadhli Mohd Shas in the 47th minute and the winner through new signing Mohamad Ghaddar in the 60th minute.

The biggest shock of the day was at the Darul Aman Stadium in Alor Star where Kedah whipped Kelantan 5-0 with goals from Mohamad Ariff Farhan Md Isa (7th min), Ken Ilso Larsen (47th and 60th mins) and a brace from Sandro da Silva Mendoca (70th and 86th mins).

FA Cup runner-up Pahang were also in for a shock defeat when bottom of the table side Penang walked away with a 2-0 win at the Batu Kawan Stadium in Penang with goals from Mark Andrew Hartmann (7th min) and Sanna Nyassi (64th min).

Felda United scored a convincing 3-1 win over Selangor at the Tun Abdul Razak Stadium in Jengka, Pahang to replace Selangor in fourth spot.

Thiago Augusto Fernandes gave Felda the lead in the 40th minute and Ifedayo Olusegun Patrick Omosuyi made it 2-0 in the 43rd minute and Muhd Shukor Adan added the third in the 75th minute while Francis Forkey Doe scored Selangor’s consolation goal in the 47th minute.

At the Shah Alam Stadium, PKNS FC edged T-Team from Terengganu, 2-1 to move up to seventh spot on the league table, replacing T-Team who slipped to eighth.

Melaka United got back to winning way by beating Sarawak 4-2 at the Hang Jebat Stadium in Melaka.

Sarawak who took a 2-0 lead through Mateo Roskam in the 23rd minute and Tommy Mawat Bada in the 28th minute, conceded four goals when Melaka United clawed back with goals from South Korean Jeon Woo Young (30th min), Mohd Fauzi Rozlan (34th min), R. Surendran (39th min) and Felipe de Almeida Sousa (90th min).





Latest from Latest

Go to Top