Hottest Online News Portal

Half Million Passengers To Enjoy 50% Discount On Rail, BRT

in Latest

KUALA LUMPUR – Over half a million existing Mass Rapid Transit (MRT), Light Rail Transit (LRT), monorail, and Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) commuters and thousands of new users are expected to take advantage of the 50 per cent fare discount starting tomorrow until Aug 31, 2017.

Commenting on the above announcement by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak at the launch of the second phase of the Sungai Buloh – Kajang MRT (MRT SBK) today, Rapid Rail Sdn Bhd, the official operator of the MRT service in the Klang Valley, said the fare system would be adjusted to give 50 per cent rebate for all MRT, LRT, monorail and BRT services from tomorrow.

Rapid Rail Chief Executive Officer Datuk Ir Zohari Sulaiman urged the public to use the free MRT phase two service from Kajang Station to the National Museum Station until the end of service hours today (July 17), with the last train departing the Kajang Station and National Museum at 11.30 pm tonight.

Zohari said more than 1,200 Rapid Rail staff have been assigned to operate the SBK MRT service, which was expected to attract up to 10 times the number of current MRT users.

In anticipation of the increase in passengers, especially at integrated and connected stations, Rapid Rail has been renovating several major stations, including the KL Sentral LRT Station.

He said the newly-renovated East Wing of the KL Sentral LRT Station now functioned as the second entrance to the KL Sentral LRT Station and was equipped with a customer service office, 17 automatic gates, four escalators, closed circuit cameras, 11 token machines and Touch ‘n Go facilities.

Zohari also reminded MyRapid cardholders to change their cards to the new MyRapid Touch’ n Go cards to ensure a smooth journey between the LRT system and the new MRT system.

“MyRapid cardholders (black cards) can switch their cards to MyRapid Touch ‘n Go cards for free at most LRT, BRT, and monorail stations until July 31.

“Concession card holders, including senior citizens, disabled people and students can change their MyRapid concession card at the Subang Jaya LRT Station, Awan Besar LRT Station, Sri Rampai LRT Station and the MyRapid Concession Card Centre at the  Pasar Seni station from 7am to 7pm daily,” added Zohari. – BERNAMA


Latest from Latest

Go to Top