Hottest Online News Portal

GST Protest: Six Accused Issued With Arrest Warrants

in Latest

PETALING JAYA – The Sessions Court here has issued a warrant of arrest against six people, who were charged with failing to disperse when instructed by the police to do so during an anti-GST protest last March, for failing to turn up at the court today.

Judge Azhaniz Azman Teh issued the arrest warrant against S. Haarthi, 21, Mohd Faizal Mohd Sabri, 32, Afzanizam Hashim, 39, Muhammad Faizzuddin Mohd Zai, 21, Abdul Kudus Halim, 43, and E. Sarawanen, 43.

The six accused were among 79 individuals, including Kuala Krai Member of Parliament Dr Mohd Hatta Md Ramli, 58,and Sungai Siput Member of Parliament Michael Jeyakumar Devaraj, 59, who pleaded not guilty to the charge.

The were alleged to have ignored an order made by the police under Section 21(1)(d) of the Peaceful Assembly Act for them to disperse from an assembly.

They were charged with committing the offence at Kompleks Kastam Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur, Jalan SS 6/3 Kelana Jaya, Petaling Jaya, at 5 pm on March 23 this year.

The offence, under Section 21(3) of the same act, carries a fine of up to RM20,000, if found guilty.

Azhaniz then set July 1 for mention.

The prosecution was represented by deputy public prosecutor Suhaimi Ibrahim, while the accused were represented by a panel of lawyers led by Roger Chan. – BERNAMA


Latest from Latest

Go to Top