Hottest Online News Portal

Great Britain Champs Of Sultan Of Johor Cup

in Latest/Sports

JOHOR BAHARU – Great Britain were crowned champions of the Sultan of Johor Cup hockey tournament after edging India 4-3 in a penalty shootout when the final ended in a 2-2 draw at the end of regulation play at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium here Sunday night.

In the shootout, Ed Holler, Jack Clee (two goals) and team captain Luke Taylor were on target for Great Britain while team captain Harjeet Singh (two goals) and Harmanpreet Singh came through for India.

Great Britain began the match quite aggressively, repeatedly taking the attacks to the two-time champions’ goal.

Their first penalty corner as early as the third minute bore fruit when Taylor slotted in a goal from a Robert Farrington pass.

India equalised with their first penalty corner in the 12th minute when Parvider Singh’s pass was hit in by Harmanpreet Singh into the top right hand corner of the net.

Both teams failed to add to their tally until the whistle blew ending the first half.

India relentlessly launched assault after assault on the opponent’s goal mouth when the second half started but the defenders headed by Taylor did a good job of stemming the tide.

But their persistence paid off when Indian striker Gurjant Singh scored India’s second goal in the 42nd minute.

Great Britain equalised four minutes later via a solo run by Jack Turner.

This was the second time the two teams met in the final of the prestigious tournament.

The Fair Play Award went to Australia, the Most Prolific Scorer Award went to Taylor, Chris Wyer was named the best goalkeeper while Harjeet Singh was declared the Best Player of the tournament.



Latest from Latest

Go to Top