Hottest Online News Portal

GE14: Kelantan MB, Deputy MB Defend Seats

in Latest

KOTA BHARU – Kelantan Menteri Besar Datuk Ahmad Yakob and his deputy Datuk Mohd Amar Abdullah will be defending their Pasir Pekan and Panchor state seats respectively in the 14th general election on May 9.

This was announced by PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang when unveiling the party’s line up of candidates for Kelantan at the compound of the Sultan Muhammad IV Stadium here tonight.

PAS which has ruled Kelantan since 1990 will be contesting all 14 parliamentary and 45 state seats in Kelantan.

Abdul Hadi also confirmed that PAS deputy president Datuk Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man, secretary-general Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan and woman candidate Siti Zailah Mohd Yusoff will be standing in the Kubang Kerian, Kota Bharu and Rantau Panjang parliamentary seats respectively.

However, there was a notable change in that state Agriculture, Agro-based Industry, Biotechnology and Green Technology Committee chairman Datuk Che Abdullah Mat Nawi who is the incumbent for the Wakaf Bharu state seat has been slated for the Tumpat parliamentary seat and has been replaced with new face Mohd Rusli Abdullah.

Nik Mohamad Abduh, the son of the late PAS spiritual leader Datuk Nik Aziz Nik Mat, who won the Pasir Mas parliamentary seat in GE13, has been moved to the Bachok parliamentary seat and is replaced by Kelantan PAS Youth chief Ahmad Fadhli Shaari.

Bachok incumbent Ahmad Marzuk Shaari has been moved to the Pengkalan Chepa parliamentary seat while its incumbent Dr Izani Husin to the Kijang seat.

Kelantan State Assembly Deputy Speaker Abd Latiff Abd Rahman will be contesting in the Kuala Krai parliamentary constituency while his place will be taken over by new face Muhammad Mat Sulaiman.

The same goes for Pulai Chondong incumbent Zulkifli Mamat who has been slated for the Machang parliamentary seat while new face Azhar Salleh will be featuring in Pulai Chondong.

Among those making a reappearance include Wan Ismail Wan Jusoh who will be fielded for the Ketereh parliamentary seat and Dr Nik Muhd Zawawi Salleh (Pasir Puteh).

Among the new faces introduced by PAS are Wan Roslan Wan Hamat (Pengkalan Kubor), Mohd Adanan Hassan (Kelaboran), Zuraidin Abdullah (Chetok), Saiful Adli Abu Bakar (Salor), Tuan Mohd Sharipudin Tuan Ismail (Selising), Mohd Rodzi Ja’afar (Gaal) and Ramzi Mohd Yusoff (Bukit Bunga). – BERNAMA


Latest from Latest

Go to Top