Hottest Online News Portal

JDT, Kedah Secure Wins, Move Into Malaysia Cup Quarterfinals

in Latest/Sports


JOHOR Darul Ta’zim (JDT) confirmed qualification to the last eight of the Malaysia Cup with a 5-0 trouncing of Terengganu, as Pahang and T-Team also notched big wins on Tuesday night.

Unlike the full-strength line up fielded in the 2-0 win over Sarawak at the weekend, JDT went for an all local cast at Larkin Stadium, and quickly had the game wrapped up with three first-half goals.

Pahang went goal crazy in Kuantan, hammering second-tier PKNP FC 6-0 to replace Negeri Sembilan in second place in Group A.

Joseph Kalang Tie and Wan Zaharulnizam Wan Zakaria both picked up braces for Pahang, with Afif Amiruddin and Matheus Alves also getting in on the act.

T-Team helped themselves to second by thrashing Negeri Sembilan 4-1 in Kuala Terengganu.

In Group C, defending champions Kedah also sealed qualification to the quarterfinals with a 1- 0 victory over UiTM FC.

At Larkin Stadium, the Southern Tigers were eager to redeem themselves having finished bottom of their group last year.

JDT did not have to wait long to take the lead in the Group D clash as Safawi Rasid tucked home from six yards after Azamuddin Akil was fouled in the penalty box.

Eager to build on their advantage, JDT continued pressing and extended their lead through Fadhli Shas in the 38th minute.

The game was done and dusted in first-half added time, with S. Kunanlan joining in the act to confirm the three points.

Ahmad Hazwan Bakri added to the goal fest with a fourth three minutes after the break, before English-born substitute Darren Lok made it 5-0 10 minutes from the end.

With only a few league games remaining, FC’s Jason Dasey and John Wilkinson preview two of Malaysia’s biggest match-ups.

The win temporarily puts JDT on top on Group D, but they could be bumped down if Selangor win against Sarawak on Wednesday.

Other results saw already qualified Perak beat Kuala Lumpur 2-0, while Felda United continued their hot streak with a 3-2 win over PKNS FC.

Johor Darul Ta’zim: Izham Tarmizi (GK) (C), Afiq Fazail, Amirulhadi Zainal, Ahmad Hazwan Bakri, Azrif Nasrulhaq, S.Kunanlan,Junior Eldstal,Fadhli Shas, Safawi Rasid (Darren Lok 64′), Azamuddin Akil, Nazmi Faiz

Terengganu: Syazwan Yusoff (GK), Adam Othman, Izuan Jarudin, Lazaro Vinicius (C), Gabriel Davis, Amirul Syahmi, Ferris Danial, Ezaidy Khadar, Abdul Latiff Suhaimi, Hafizal Mohamad, Hazeman AB Karim – ESPN


Latest from Latest

Go to Top