Hottest Online News Portal

Final Appeal Hearing For Lahad Datu Intruders Begins Today

in Top News

PUTRAJAYA – The Federal Court will hear the final appeal of the nine Filipino men who were sentenced to death for waging war against the Yang di-Pertuan Agong over the 2013 Lahad Datu intrusion on Monday (Jan 15).

The nine men are Julham Rashid, 70; Virgilio Nemar Patulada @ Mohammad Alam Patulada, 53; Salib Akhmad Emali, 64; Tani Lahad Dahi, 64; Basad Manuel, 42, who is the son of the late self-proclaimed Sultan Sulu Jamalul Kiram, Datu Amirbahar Hushin Kiram, 54; Atik Hussin Abu Bakar, 46; Al Wazir Osman @ Abdul, 62; and Ismail Yasin, 77.

The prosecution is also appealing against the acquittal of 14 men on the charge of waging war against the Yang di-Pertuan Agong and terrorist-related offences linked to the intrusion at Kampung Tanduo from Feb 12 to April 10, 2013.

The 14 accused are Masir Aidin, Anwar Salib Akhmad, Binhar Salib Akhmad, Malaysian Abdul Hadi Mawan, Rijmal Salleh, Abdul Majil Jubin, Rizman Gulan, Basil Samiul, Totoh Hismullah, Saidili Jaharul, Kadir Uyung, Lating Tiong and Dani Ismail and Salib Akhmad Emali (for terrorist-related offences).

The media was then ushered to the Federal Court 2 to witness the proceedings via a live video feed.

During the previous proceedings at the Court of Appeal between June 6 and 8 last year, only six media personnel were allowed into the courtroom due to space constraints.

Security at the Palace of Justice was tight, with a high presence of security guards and policemen.

Chief Justice Tun Md Raus Sharif will chair a five-man panel, and the other judges are Chief Judge of Malaya Justice Ahmad Maarop, Chief Judge of Sabah and Sarawak Justice Richard Malanjun, Justices Ramly Ali and Azahar Mohamed.

The prosecution is led by Awang Armadajaya Awang Mahmud, deputy head of the appellate and trial division.

Other deputy public prosecutors include Nurulhuda Nur’aimi Mohd Nor, Wan Shaharuddin Wan Ladin and Hamzah Ismail.

Among the counsels are Datuk N. Sivananthan, Liu Mei Ching, Harpreet Kaur, Abd Gani Zelika and Lam Kah Kah.

On June 8, the nine men were sentenced to death by the Court of Appeal for committing the offence after Justice Mohd Zawawi Salleh, who chaired a three-member panel, overturned the natural life custodial sentence meted out by the Kota Kinabalu High Court on July 26, 2016. – The Star Online



Latest from Top News

Go to Top