Hottest Online News Portal

Curfew In ESSZone Extended Till Nov 14

in Latest

KOTA KINABALU – The curfew in the waters off seven districts in the Eastern Sabah Security Zone (ESSZone) which ends at 6pm today, has been extended until Nov 14.

The districts are Tawau, Semporna, Kunak, Lahad Datu, Kinabatangan, Sandakan and Beluran.

Sabah Police Commissioner Datuk Ramli Din said with the extension, all residents in the affected areas must remain indoors between 6pm and 6am.

“The curfew has been extended to ensure that the waters are not encroached by terrorists, which could threaten the security of international researchers, as well as tourists at resort islands,” he said in a statement here.

Ramli said based on information, the Abu Sayyaf militant group and those who conducted kidnappings for ransom from the southern Philippines and cross-border crimes were still active in the region.

The curfew was also to facilitate enforcement and monitoring of boat movements and the presence of security vessels creates a sense of security for chalet operators and fishermen around the area, he said.

“I also authorise all district police chiefs in the ESSZone districts to issue permits to eligible applicants for fishing activities, or in cases of emergencies to go through a curfew area,” he said. – BERNAMA


Latest from Latest

Go to Top