Hottest Online News Portal

Countries That Supported And Abstained On UN Jerusalem Vote

in Slider/Top News


SOME 128 countries, including Malaysia, defied US President Donald Trump on Thursday and voted in favour of a UN General Assembly resolution calling for Washington to drop its recent recognition of Jerusalem as Israel’s capital.

Trump had threatened to cut off financial aid to countries that voted in favour of the resolution. After the vote, US Ambassador to the United Nations, Nikki Haley, tweeted that the United States “will be taking names”.

Washington found itself isolated as many of its Western and Arab allies voted for the measure. Some of those allies, like Egypt, Jordan and Iraq, are major recipients of US military or economic aid, although the US threat to cut aid did not single out any country.

Among countries that abstained were:

Argentina, Australia, Canada, Colombia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Mexico, Philippines, Poland, Rwanda, South Sudan and Uganda.

Countries that supported the recognition of Jerusalem as Israel’s capital were:

The United States, Israel, Guatemala, Honduras, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau and Togo.

— Reuters


Latest from Slider

Go to Top