Hottest Online News Portal

Aigroz, Riesler Champs Of Langkawi Ironman 2015

in Latest/Sports

LANGKAWI – Mike Aigroz of Switzerland and defending champion Diana Riesler of Germany won the Ironman Langkawi 2015 men’s and women’s categories respectively here Saturday.

Aigroz, 37, finished the gruelling race in eight hours 52 minutes and two seconds and was richer by US$8,000 (RM25,600) for the effort.

Riesler, 31, proved that her win in the last edition was no fluke when she crossed the finish line in 9’37’06s.

She also took home the same amount as the winner’s purse.

A total of 885 triathletes from 53 countries took part in the Ironman. The top 40 finishers today qualify for the Ironman World Championships in Kona, Hawaii next year.

The prizes were given away by Langkawi Development Authority chief executive officer (CEO) Tan Sri Khalid Ramli and Malaysia Major Events CEO, Zulkefli Sharif.

Professional (Men): 1. Mike Aigroz (Switzerland) 8:52.02 2. Fredrik Croneborg (Sweden) 8:52.12 3. Harry Wiltshire (British) 8:55.01 4. Alberto Casadel (Itali), 9:00.49 5. Keito Tohara (Jepun), 9:01.19

Professional (Women): 1. Diana Riesler (Jerman) 9:37.06 2. Gurutze Frades (Sepanyol) 9:49.09 3. Natascha Badmann (Switzerland) 9:54.07 4. Sarah Crowley (Australia) 9: 58.26 5. Saleta Castro Nogueria (Sepanyol) 10:00.23


Latest from Latest

Go to Top