Hottest Online News Portal

Affendi Rosli Obliterates Opposition To Win In Muar

in Latest

PETRONAS Yamaha CKJ’s Mohd Affendi Rosli returned to the top of his game, putting in a classy and dominant performance to snatch victory in a dramatic CP130 race in Round 3 of the PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship at Muar, Johor on Saturday.

Making things sweeter for the championship’s title sponsor, Ahmad Fazli Sham and Abdul Muhaimin Roslan of PETRONAS Yamaha Maju Motor also finished the race on the podium that was attended by the ruler of Johor, Sultan Ibrahim Ibni Almarhum Sultan Iskandar.

Affendi led the race from flag-to-flag as soon as the lights went out, converting a second row start to his first win for the season within 16’08.555s.

But the real star of the day was Fazli Sham. The seasoned contender who started last on the grid carved his way through the field to close the gap on Affendi in the final three laps but in the end time ran out and the 33-year old was forced to settle for second place with 16’08.768s while Abdul Muhaimin finished third in 16’17.087s.

Meanwhile Muar marked a bitter outing for Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing as Norizman Ismail finished ninth while poleman, Elly Idzlianizar Ilias finished last. Zamri Baba and Mohd Hafiz Nor Azman who also started from front row retired from the race in the third and seventh lap respectively.

“There is no better way to say this but I am extremely happy and grateful to win here in Muar,” said an overjoyed Affendi.

“We finally found a competitive setup after two disappointing races and we managed to use it to our advantage. Even so, it was still a struggle because I could not get a good lap time during qualifying but fortunately things went well in the race.”

“Also, I am very happy and honoured to receive the trophy from His Majesty, witnessed by PETRONAS’ top management. It can’t get any better than this and hopefully we can keep this momentum rolling for the rest of the season,” he added.

Hauling 25-points from this round, Affendi moves up to fifth in the CP130 standings with 33 points while Fazli Sham leads with 48 points ahead of Elly Idzlianizar and Abdul Muhaimin with 42 and 41 points.

Meanwhile Kasma Daniel Kasmayuddin gave his home crowd something to cheer about when he took an emphatic win in the intermediate CP115 category.

The PETRONAS Yamaha Maju Motor rider battled with Motul Yamaha YY Pang rivals, Izzat Zaidi Salehan and Tengku Amirul Haffiruddin before taking the lead in lap 3.

From there it was smooth sailing for the youngster as he put in consistent lap times and pulled away from the pack, wrapping up the 15-lap race in 13’51.526s, 3.881 seconds ahead of Mohd Fareez Afeez (Felda PB Racing) and Syafiq Rosli (M Seki Liberty Honda) who timed 13’55.407s and 13’57.246s.

Tengku Amirul who retired from the race due to technical issues however still remains in control of the championship standings with 50 points with Kasma five points adrift. Fareez sits in third with 29 points.

The WIRA class saw Harith Farhan Baharin once again dominated the race and claim a back-to-back victory, cementing his championship lead.

The Kozi Yam Honda rider rocket himself to steal the holeshot and gradually pull away from the field unchallenged, completing the 12-lap race in 11’14.722s with a 2.537 seconds advantage.

Qhuwarismi Mohd Nasir (Weststar Motorsport) came out on top of an intense three-way battle to secure his first podium after three years competing in the age-capped WIRA class with 11’14.722s ahead of Yamaha PETRONAS Super Series graduate, Irfan Rosnizam (Felda AFB Tech Cardinals) in third place.

“I am very happy and grateful for this win. Muar being a new track, we had very limited time to find the right setup but fortunately the engineers pulled it together right before the final to give me a steady consistent bike that helped me win the race. Hopefully we can carry forward this momentum to the next round,” said Harith who leads the championship with 70 points.

Round 4 of the 2015 PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship will be held in Terengganu this 22 and 23 May.

1.Affendi Rosli (Yamaha) 16’08.555s 2.Ahmad Fazli Sham (Yamaha) 16’08.768s 3.Abdul Muhaimin Roslan (Yamaha) 16’17.087s 4.Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Yamaha) 16’19.614s 5.Mohd Fitri Ashraf Razali (Yamaha) 16’22.929s

Overall Standings
1.Ahmad Fazli Sham (Yamaha) 48 points 2.Elly Idzlianizar Ilias (Honda) 42 points 3.Abdul Muhaimin Roslan (Yamaha) 41 points 4.Zamri Baba (Honda) 40 points 5.Affendi Rosli (Yamaha) 33 points

Team Awards
1.PETRONAS Yamaha Maju Motor 96 points 2.Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing 76 points 3.PETRONAS Yamaha CKJ 59 points 4.Yamalube AHM 42 points 5.Motul Yamaha YY Pang 40 points

1.Kasma Daniel Kasmayudin (Yamaha) 13’51.526s 2.Fareez Afeez (Yamaha) 13’55.407s 3.Syafiq Rosli (Honda) 13’57.246s 4.Fakhrusy Syakirin Rostam (Honda) 14’01.300s 5.Emir Firdaus Hasan (Yamaha) 14’01.568s

Overall Standings
1.Tengku Amirul Haffiruddin (Yamaha) 50 points 2.Kasma Daniel Kasmayudin (Yamaha) 45 points 3.Fareez Afeez (Yamaha) 29 points 4.Izzat Zaidi Salehan (Yamaha) 29 points 5.Ahmad Syukran Aizat (Yamaha) 26 points

Team Awards
1.Motul Yamaha Maju Motor 79 points 2.Felda PB Racing A 49 points 3.PETRONAS Yamaha Maju Motor 45 points 4.M Seki Liberty Honda 40 points 5.PETRONAS Yamaha CKJ 37 points

1.Harith Farhan Baharin (Honda) 11’14.722s 2.Qhuwarismi Mohd Nasir (Yamaha) 11’17.259s 3.Irfan Rosnizam (Yamaha) 11’17.699s 4.Amirul Hakim Mohd Rizal (Yamaha) 11’17.888s 5.Nazirul Izzat Bahauddin (Yamaha) 11’27.600s

Overall Standings
1.Harith Farhan Baharin (Honda) 70 points 2.Saiful Izman Ahmad Zamani (Yamaha) 45 points 3.Khairul Ikhwan Ajis (Yamaha) 34 points 4.Qhuwarismi Mohd Nasir (Yamaha) 33 points 5.Nazirul Izzat Bahauddin (Yamaha) 27 points. –


Latest from Latest

Go to Top