Hottest Online News Portal

Adenan Appoints Three Deputy Chief Ministers

in Latest/Slider

KUCHING: Sarawak Chief Minister Tan Sri Adenan Satem has announced the appointment of three assemblymen as deputy chief ministers (DCMs) following Barisan Nasional’s landslide victory in the 11th state election.

They are Plantation Industries and Commodities Minister Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah, Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) president Tan Sri Dr James Jemut Masing and Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) deputy president Datuk Amar Abang Johari Tun Abang Openg.

Their appointments take effect from Friday.

This is not the first time Sarawak has had three deputy chief ministers. It was the norm in the 80s.

Barisan swept 72 of the 82 seats up for grabs in Saturday’s state election.

In the 10th polls in 2011, it won 55 of 71 seats in the state assembly.

The seats in the state assembly were increased to 82 following a redelineation exercise.

Uggah, who is PBB senior vice-president II, had been speculated to be given a DCM post following a vacancy after Tan Sri Alfred Jabu Numpang decided not to contest in the election.

The state election saw him defeating PKR candidate Noel Changgai Bucking for the Bukit Saban seat by a majority of 4,599 votes.

Abang Johari retained the Satok seat for the eighth time. He is the most senior leader in PBB after party president Adenan.

He was formerly a political secretary of Tun Abdul Taib Mahmud in 1983, when the latter was Sarawak Chief Minister, and was appointed Assistant Minister of Regional and Social Development in March 1984.

The son of Sarawak’s first Yang Di-pertua Negri, the late Tun Abang Openg Abang Shapie, Johari has successfully transformed the Satok constituency from a traditional kampung settlement into a progressive commercial area.

More to come


Latest from Latest

Go to Top