Hottest Online News Portal

Third Outing As Deputy Minister For Noriah

in Latest/Slider

PETALING JAYA: Plantation Industries and Commodities Deputy Minister Datuk Noriah Kasnon was appointed to the position in 2013.

This is her third posting as deputy minister. She previously held the deputy’s post in the Energy, Green Technology and Water Ministry and the Women, Family and Community Development Ministry.

Noriah was a three-term MP for the Sungai Besar constituency in Selangor, which she won in 2004.

In Umno, Noriah was the Sungai Besar Umno division chief, winning the position in 2003.

She entered politics in 1999 when she became a Sabak Bernam municipal councillor.

In 2001, she held the position of Tanjong Karang Wanita Umno branch chairman. Three years later, she became the Sungai Besar Umno division chief.

Born on Jan 2, 1964, in Tanjong Karang, Selangor, Noriah read law at the International Islamic University Malaysia, graduated in 1988 and received training at a law firm in Bentong, Pahang.

She was also a temporary officer in Bank Negara Malaysia and a teacher for three months during her university days.

Another passenger, Datuk Dr Sundaran Annamalai, was appointed secretary-general of the Plantation Industries and Commodities Ministry last December.

He was previously deputy secretary-general (Policy) in the Finance Ministry, and had also been director of the ministry’s national strategy unit.

Dr Sundaran previously served in the World Bank, Washington DC, as the executive director for South-East Asia Group and served under the Ministry of Public Enterprises before joining the Ministry of Finance.

Another passenger is Malaysian Palm Oil Board (MPOB) chairman Datuk Wan Mohammad Khair-il Anuar Wan Ahmad.

The 56-year-old trained architect is also the Member of Parliament for Kuala Kangsar.

He ran his own architect firm before becoming a full-time politician after winning the Bukit Chandan state seat in 2008.

In the last general election, the Kingston University graduate contested and won the Kuala Kangsar parliamentary seat.

In 2013, he was appointed chairman of MPOB.

Latest from Latest

Go to Top