Hottest Online News Portal

22 M-League Teams Apply For FAM Licence – Hamidin

in Latest

KUALA LUMPUR – All 12 teams in the Super League and 10 out of 12 Premier League clubs this season have submitted their official applications for the Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) Licence, which is a requirement to play in the 2019 Super League.

FAM secretary-general Datuk Hamidin Mohd Amin said all the Super League teams have also applied for the AFC (Asian Football Confederation) Club License to enable them to play in the 2019 AFC Champions League, if eligible, except for Pahang.

Pahang lost its qualification to play in AFC-level matches when the FAM in December last year imposed a two-year ban on the Pahang State Football Association (PBNP) from applying an AFC Club License for failing to join the AFC 2018 Cup in place of Kedah, which had failed to obtain the AFC Club License for the year.

“All Super League 2018 teams have officially applied for an FAM Licence, a condition for them to play in the 2019 Super League,” he said in a statement today.

“However, all of these teams need to pass an assessment based on six key criteria, namely sporting, infrastructure, personnel management, legal, financial and business, as enshrined in the 2018 edition of the FAM Club Licensing Rules, before they are granted the FAM Licence and / or AFC Licence,” he added.

The twelve Super League teams which have applied are Kedah, Perak, PKNP FC, Selangor, PKNS FC, Negeri Sembilan, Melaka United, Johor Darul Ta’zim (JDT), Terengganu FC, Kelantan, Kuala Lumpur and Pahang.

The 10 Premier League teams comprise Penang, Felda United FC, PDRM, UiTM FC, MIFA, Kuantan FA, Felcra FC, Sabah, Sarawak and UKM FC.

Meanwhile, JDT II and Terengganu FC II have not applied for the licence as they are feeder clubs to Super League teams JDT and Terengganu FC, he said. – BERNAMA


Latest from Latest

Go to Top