Hottest Online News Portal

19 More Reps Took Oath Of Office In Sabah Assembly, Musa And Another Remains Absent

in Latest/Politics

KOTA KINABALU- A special session for 19 out of 21 assemblyman to take their oath of office before Speaker Datuk Syed Abas Syed Ali was held here.

They were among those who boycotted the Special Sabah Legislative Assembly Sitting yesterday.

Two more representatives who have yet to be sworn in are former Chief Minister Tan Sri Musa Aman and Apas assemblyman Datuk Nizam Abu Bakar Titingan.

Musa, who is Sungai Sibuga assemblyman, is reportedly seeking medical treatment abroad while Nizam is performing umrah in Saudi Arabia.

Of ther 19, nine are from Umno, six Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) , two from Parti Solidariti TanahAirku (Star) and one each from Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS) and United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (UPKO) .

Karanaan assemblyman Datuk Seri Masidi Manjun said there is no issue on holding the oath taking ceremony on a different day.

“There is no hard and fast rule on when you can take your oath as it can be done whenever the Speaker is available,” he said after the ceremony, which lasted for about 90 minutes, was held in the Speaker’s chambers.

On the legal dispute over the chief ministership, Masidi said it was best for all to abide by what the court decides when the time comes.

“Both claimants (Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal and Musa) had said they will let the law to take its own course. Its best to abide by the law,” said Masidi who spoke on behalf of the 19 assemblymen who won under the Sabah Barisan Nasional and Star banners in the 14th General Election on May 9.

Musa was sworn into office as Chief Minister by Yang Dipertua Negeri Tun Juhar Mahiruddin on May 10 while Star president Datuk Dr Jeffrey Kitingan and Sulaman assemblyman Datuk Hajiji Mohd Noor were sworn in as Deputy Chief Ministers.

Two days later however it was declared Musa was no longer the Chief Minister as Shafie took oath as the Chief Minister before Tun Juhar.

Musa insists he is still the rightful Chief Minister and that Shafie’s appointment was unlawful. He had since initiated legal action.

Masidi said Musa had instructed for to oversee his duties in his absence.

Yesterday, the Special State Legislative Assembly sitting gave its vote of confidence for Shafie to serve as Sabah Chief Minister

The motion, which saw 39 out of 60 assemblymen in attendance, was tabled by Deputy Chief Minister Christina Liew.- New Straits Times

Latest from Latest

Go to Top