Hottest Online News Portal

19 Incumbents Renominated, Datuk Jailani Johari Excluded

in Latest/Politics

KUALA TERENGGANU – The Terengganu Barisan Nasional (BN) nominated 19 incumbents and several new faces to contest in the 14th General Election (GE14).

What was more surprising, however, was the omission of the Deputy Minister of Communications and Multimedia Datuk Seri Jailani Johari, who was not renominated for the Hulu Terengganu Parliamentary constituency, and was instead replaced by a çomeback’candidate Datuk Rosol Wahid who had once been the Ajil Assemblyman for three terms from 1999 to 2013.

Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Ahmad Razif Abd Rahman, who is also Terengganu UMNO State Liaison chairman, remains as the candidate for the State seat of Seberang Takir.

Those contesting not only comprised former senior officers in the civil service such as former Terengganu State Secretary, Dato Wan Nawawi Wan Ismail for the Parliamentary constituency of Kuala Terengganu but also motivational expert namely Dr Tengku Asmadi Tengku Mohamad as the candidate for the Parliamentary seat of Kuala Nerus.

Two former Menteris Besar of Terengganu namely Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh and Datuk Seri Ahmad Said also remained as candidates for the Parliamentary seat of Besut and State seat for Kijal respectively.
As expected, Agriculture and Agro-based Industry Minister Datuk Seri Shabery Cheek continued to defend his Parliamentary seat of Kemaman. – BERNAMA

Latest from Latest

Go to Top